34th Japan Academy Prizes

The awards ceremony for the 34th Japan Academy Prize was held on Friday. The winners of the Excellence awards were already announced in December, but the focus this time were the "Best" awards, which were unknown until now. Sang-il Lee’s "Akunin" won the most awards (5), but Tetsuya Nakashima’s "Kokuhaku" was close behind with 4 awards, including the title of Best Picture.

Takashi Miike’s "13 Assassins" also won four awards, all in technical categories.

The winners were:

Picture of the Year: Kokuhaku (Tetsuya Nakashima)

Animation of the Year: Karigurashi no Arrietty (Hiromasa Yonebayashi)

Director of the Year: Tetsuya Nakashima (Kokuhaku)

Screenplay of the Year: Tetsuya Nakashima (Kokuhaku)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Satoshi Tsumabuki (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Eri Fukatsu (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Akira Emoto (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Kirin Kiki (Akunin)

Outstanding Achievement in Music: Joe Hisaishi (Akunin)

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Nobuyasu Kita (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Direction: Yoshiya Watanabe (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction: Yuji Hayashida (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Recording: Jun Nakamura (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Film Editing: Yoshiyuki Koike (Kokuhaku)

Outstanding Foreign Language Film: Avatar (James Cameron)

As always, there is no "Best" award in the Rookie of the Year category. The six recipients (previously announced) were:

Mana Ashida (Ghost: Mou Ichido Dakishimetai)

Momoka Ono (Kinako: Minarai Keisatsuken no Monogatari)

Riisa Naka (Zebraman: Zebra City no Gyakushu, Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo)

Kento Nagayama (Soft Boy)

Shohei Miura (THE LAST MESSAGE: Umizaru)

Takahiro Miura (RAILWAYS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.