Tag Archives: Kokuhaku

More of the cast revealed for upcoming “Shokuzai” mini-series – Aoi Yu, Koike Eiko, Ando Sakura, Ikewaki Chizuru

The upcoming drama mini-series “Shokuzai,” starring Koizumi Kyoko, had more of its cast revealed today. Actresses Aoi Yu, Koike Eiko, Ando Sakura, and Ikewaki Chizuru have been officially added to the show.

“Shokuzai” is based on a novel by “Kokuhaku” author Minato Kanae. The story revolves around a mother seeking revenge for the murder of her young daughter Emiri 15 years ago, confronting the four women who had witnessed the killer at the time.

The four women are being played by Aoi, Koike, Ando, and Ikewaki. 15 years earlier, when they were elementary school students, they had been playing with Emiri up until just before her death. They were the first to discover her body, and although they saw the culprit’s face, they were unable to remember it well enough to identify the person. As a result, Emiri’s mother (Koizumi) demanded that they find the killer, or else find a way to atone for themselves to her satisfaction. Now grown up, those women find her words coming back to haunt them as tragedy begins to befall them.

The story is being told in five episodes on WOWOW Prime, starting on January 8. The first episode will be broadcast for free.

Minato Kanae’s Kyogu to star Matsuyuki Yasuko

It was recently announced that two works by author Minato Kanae (“Kokuhaku”) are getting live-action adaptations. Today, yet another one has been announced, based on her newest novel before the book has even been released.

Titled “Kyogu,” the novel is scheduled for release next month on October 7th. TV Asahi will air a drama special with the same title sometime this winter, starring actresses Matsuyuki Yasuko and Ryo. The drama will be directed by award-winning movie director Wakamatsu Setsuro (“Shizumanu Taiyo”).

Matsuyuki plays Yoko, a mother of a 5-year-old boy. She wins a new writer’s prize for a children’s picture book she wrote, based on the memories of her close friend Harumi (Ryo). Both of them were abandoned by their parents at a young age and raised in an orphanage.

Meanwhile, Yoko’s husband (Sawamura Ikki), a local politician, is suspected of receiving illegal campaign contributions, so his mother (Shirakawa Yumi) and his head supporter (Kishibe Ittoku) are desperate to push Yoko to popularity. The reluctant Yoko receives some encouragement from Harumi, but one day her son Yuta is suddenly kidnapped. She receives a letter demanding her to “reveal the truth” if she wants Yuta back safely. Unable to contact the police for help, she turns to Harumi for help.

The cast also includes Ishida Ayumi, Tabata Tomoko, Ichikawa Yui, Tanimura Mitsuki, Nishimura Masahiko, Azusa Mikihisa, Nogiwa Yoko, Nagura Jun, and Ashina Sei.

Before the drama is broadcast this winter, TV Asahi is releasing a spinoff drama titled “Mou Hitotsu no Kyogu” through the show’s official website. Set in an orphanage, the 7-episode story stars Duncan as a staff worker. The first episode was made available today.

34th Japan Academy Prizes

The awards ceremony for the 34th Japan Academy Prize was held on Friday. The winners of the Excellence awards were already announced in December, but the focus this time were the "Best" awards, which were unknown until now. Sang-il Lee’s "Akunin" won the most awards (5), but Tetsuya Nakashima’s "Kokuhaku" was close behind with 4 awards, including the title of Best Picture.

Takashi Miike’s "13 Assassins" also won four awards, all in technical categories.

The winners were:

Picture of the Year: Kokuhaku (Tetsuya Nakashima)

Animation of the Year: Karigurashi no Arrietty (Hiromasa Yonebayashi)

Director of the Year: Tetsuya Nakashima (Kokuhaku)

Screenplay of the Year: Tetsuya Nakashima (Kokuhaku)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Satoshi Tsumabuki (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role: Eri Fukatsu (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Akira Emoto (Akunin)

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Kirin Kiki (Akunin)

Outstanding Achievement in Music: Joe Hisaishi (Akunin)

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Nobuyasu Kita (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Lighting Direction: Yoshiya Watanabe (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction: Yuji Hayashida (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Recording: Jun Nakamura (13 Assassins)

Outstanding Achievement in Film Editing: Yoshiyuki Koike (Kokuhaku)

Outstanding Foreign Language Film: Avatar (James Cameron)

As always, there is no "Best" award in the Rookie of the Year category. The six recipients (previously announced) were:

Mana Ashida (Ghost: Mou Ichido Dakishimetai)

Momoka Ono (Kinako: Minarai Keisatsuken no Monogatari)

Riisa Naka (Zebraman: Zebra City no Gyakushu, Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo)

Kento Nagayama (Soft Boy)

Shohei Miura (THE LAST MESSAGE: Umizaru)

Takahiro Miura (RAILWAYS)